top of page
  • Julie

When in Rome...

... try to see everything at once.

Needless to say, it was a very busy day. We started off by walking past the Colosseum to go into the Roman Forum (and paused to take some pictures in front of it and the Arch of Constantine).



We then went into the Roman Forum, where we saw a bunch of ruins of buildings, as well as columns of various temples, and the arches of Constantine, Titus and Septimius Severus. I took a picture of one of the aquaducts we walked under that, but for the rest of the day I stopped taking pictures with my tablet because it was too much work to pull it out. I also didn't want any potential pick-pockets to see that I had it.


(Added photos - Aquaduct (I think?), Basilica of Maxentius, Kore Statue, Arch of Titus, Arch of Septimius Severus, Temple of Saturn (close), Temple of Saturn (far), lizard, Temple of Castor and Pollux)




After the Forum we walked by the Pantheon but didn't go in because the line was huge. We had lunch and then wandered around until we found the Trevi Fountain (we each made a wish, of course) and the Spanish Steps. On the way we also came across Trajan's Column and walked past the Vittorio Emanuele II Monument. I also saw that the drain covers say SPQR (Senatus Populusque Romanus - a callback to ancient Rome!). Then we went back to the Colosseum and actually went inside. It was wonderful! Technically I've seen it before but it was nice to see it again when I'm old enough to actually remember! We came back home after that since we were all exhausted and our feet hurt. Our train was very crowded.



Anyway, back to work tomorrow!


 

(Edited and extra photos added May 2019)

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page