top of page
  • Julie

Caere Dig Week Three

May 27 - Day Eleven - Brushing


Today I worked in a different part of the trench, brushing away dust with a paintbrush. I also discovered something pretty cool that I can't tell you about, unfortunately. (Edit May 2019: I worked in the subterranean room, and noticed faint markings on the floor. It turns out the markings matched up with a pillar that was found loose in the room the year before. The workers carefully carried it down and put it back in place!)



May 28 - Day Twelve - Rinsing


Not much happened today for me. At lunch I switched out with a girl who'd been washing pottery, so that's what I did all afternoon. I did find a couple cool things while I washed, but just pieces of pottery with a bit of painting. We did find cool things on the site, but I can't tell you about it! Ha ha!




May 29 - Day Thirteen - Descending


Today was more of the same. Although, a cool hole was opened up on the site and we all got a turn going into it. It was pretty deep, we needed a ladder to get down. It was a cistern, once upon a time.

Anyway, after the dig, the boys from our team played soccer against the guys who work at the internet cafe. We all went to watch. They split up the teams with one Italian on one team and two on the other, and the rest was made up by our guys. I don't remember who won, but it was pretty fun to watch. Aside for the few times the ball came really close to where we were sitting. Oh, and when some other Italians joined us in watching and started smoking because they do that everywhere. But aside from that it was great.

cat
(May 23)

We had a late dinner because of the game. As I type this, my table is feeding the cat who always shows up, a really cute tortoiseshell we've named Tufa (that's the type of volcanic rock we've been digging through). I tried to take pictures of her but the tablet was too slow so they're all blurry.

May 30 - Day Fourteen - Chipping


I spent all day chipping away at this really annoying layer that is mostly made up of small rocks. It was annoying. But to pass the time, my team and I started matching people at the dig up to Disney characters. We gave each house a movie and matched everyone in the house to one of the characters. My house was Snow White and the Seven Dwarves solely because there are eight of us. I was Doc. It was really entertaining.

Yeah, so not the most exciting day. But the weather was beautiful for once!





May 31 - Day Fifteen - Pickaxing


Today, my team broke through a couple layers of our area, because the supervisors wanted to see what was going on lower down. So I got to use the pickaxe for the first time! It was pretty fun, actually, but way more tiring then I expected it to be. We got all the way down to bedrock, and luckily they're not going to make us try to fight through it. There wasn't much in the layers, unfortunately, but people in other places in the trench found cool things.

So overall, it was an awesome day! And the weather was more or less decent, kind of cold and windy in the morning but beautiful later.

That's it for the day! Field trip tomorrow and then potentially Rome on Sunday. One week left and then I'm home!



 

(Edited and extra photos added May 2019)

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page